Journal of Physics


It has come to our notice that the names of the Academy Journals are being misused and fraudulent emails are being sent inviting submissions to online predatory journals with the same titles. These email addresses are general ones like gmail, and not from an institutional domain. The emails coming from the Academy will be from the domain "". Please do not respond to requests coming from other email IDS as we at the Academy do not use gmail or any another mail server.


Thumbnail 1

Pramana – Journal of Physics was launched in July 1973. Pramana (which in Sanskrit means “source of valid knowledge, a standard”) is the outcome of a nationwide effort by Indian physicists to disseminate their best efforts in Physics. The journal is published in collaboration with the Indian National Science Academy and Indian Physics Association.

Aim and Scope

The journal publishes current research in physics, both original contributions – research papers, brief reports or rapid communications – and invited reviews. Pramana also publishes special issues devoted to advances in specific areas of physics and proceedings of select high-quality conferences and theme issues.

Co-publishing Arrangement with Springer

Pramana – Journal of Physics is now distributed in print outside India and online worldwide by Springer, co-publisher of the journal together with the Indian Academy of Sciences. On Springer, Pramana – Journal of Physics ( is part of SpringerLink, one of the world's leading interactive databases of high quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and online archives collection. Print subscriptions within India and open online access will continue to be served from Indian Academy of Sciences.

Other details

0304-4289 (print)
0973-7111 (online)
12 issues a year
Impact Factor (2016)

Editorial Office

Indian Academy of Sciences, C V Raman Avenue
Sadashivanagar, P.B. No. 8005, Bengaluru 560 080, India
Telephone: 91-80-2266 1247/1248
Telefax: 91-80-2361 6094

  • Pramana – Journal of Physics | News

© 2017 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.