Raman Chair


The Raman Chair was instituted in 1972 by the Government of India to commemorate the memory of the founder of the Academy, Sir C. V. Raman. Eminent scientists are invited by the Council of the Academy to occupy the Chair, for periods of between six weeks and six months. Raman Professors who have occupied the Chair are:

Period Name Affiliation
Jul. - Oct. 1974 Prof. R. Hanbury Brown*, F.R.S. University of Sydney (Australia)
Feb. - Mar. 1979 and
Nov. 1979
Prof. Dorothy Hodgkin* Nobel Laureate
University of Oxford (UK)
Sep. - Dec. 1979 Prof. N. Bloembergen Nobel Laureate
Harvard University, Cambridge (USA)
Dec. 1979 - Feb. 1980 Prof. Charles Frank* University of Bristol (UK)
Sep. - Dec. 1980 Prof. K. R. Ramanathan* Physical Research Laboratory
Ahmedabad (India)
Oct. 1982 - Feb. 1983 Prof. George W. Series* University of Reading (UK)
Dec. 1982 - Feb. 1983 Prof. G. Pontecorvo* Imperial Cancer Research Fund
London (UK)
Dec. 1982 - Mar. 1983 Prof. J. B. Goodenough University of Oxford (UK)
Jan. - Apr. 1986 Prof. B. S. Blumberg Nobel Laureate
Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia (USA)
Oct. 1990 - Jan. 1991 Prof. John T. Bonner Princeton University (USA)
Dec. 1993 - Jan. 1994 Prof. Anatol Roshko California Institute of Technology
Pasadena (USA)
Nov. 1994 - Jan. 1995 Prof. A. K. Ramdas Purdue University
West Lafayette (USA)
Dec. 1995 - Feb. 1996 Prof. Sir Hermann Bondi Churchill College
Cambridge (UK)
Sep. - Oct. 1996 Prof. B. I. Halperin Harvard University
Cambridge (USA)
Feb. - Apr. 1997 Prof. Dan P. McKenzie University of Cambridge (UK)
Dec. 1998 and
Dec. 1999
Prof. T. N. Krishnamurti Florida State University
Tallahassee (USA)
Feb. - Mar. 2001 Prof. Itamar Procaccia Weizmann Institute of Science
Rehovot (Israel)
Oct. - Nov. 2001 Prof. Albert J. Libchaber The Rockefeller University
New York (USA)
Jun. - Jul. 2002 Prof. K. R. Sreenivasan University of Maryland
College Park (USA)
Feb. - Mar. 2003 Prof. Philippe Nozieres Institut Laue-Langevin
Grenoble Cedex (France)
Dec. 2003 - Jan. 2004 Prof. Robert Williams Space Telescope Science Institute
Baltimore (USA)
Dec. 2004 - Jan. 2005 Prof. Abhay Ashtekar Pennsylvania State University
University Park (USA)
Nov. - Dec. 2005 and
Oct. - Nov. 2006
Prof. Anne McLaren* Cancer Research UK
Gurdon Institute, Cambridge (UK)
Dec. 2007 - Jan. 2008 Prof. Sajeev John University of Toronto
Toronto (Canada)
Jan. - Feb. 2009 Prof. S. R. S. Varadhan Courant Institute, New York University
New York (USA)
Apr. 2009 and
Oct. - Nov. 2009
Prof. Marc Fontecave Université Joseph Fourier
Grenoble (France)
Jul. - Sep. 2010 Prof. Huzihiro Araki Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences
Kyoto University, Kyoto (Japan)
Sep. - Oct. 2011 and
Dec. 2011
Prof. Anthony K. Cheetham University of Cambridge
Cambridge (UK)
Oct. 2011 and
Jan. - Feb. 2012
Prof. Sauro Succi Istituto Applicazioni Calcolo
Rome (Italy)
Feb. - Mar. 2014,
Aug. - Sept. 2014 and
Jan. 2015
Prof. Michael L. Klein Temple University
Philadelphia (USA)
Feb. – Mar. 2016 Prof. T. J. Pedley University of Cambridge
Cambridge (UK)


© 2017 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.